Akwaaba; message in english! - Reisverslag uit Utrecht, Nederland van Leonoor Akkermans - WaarBenJij.nu Akwaaba; message in english! - Reisverslag uit Utrecht, Nederland van Leonoor Akkermans - WaarBenJij.nu

Akwaaba; message in english!

Door: webmaster

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Leonoor

31 Maart 2008 | Nederland, Utrecht

Dear friends,

Only 5 more days and then I’ll fly to Ghana, the country that I started to love so much when I worked with UNICEF for my internship. I long for the always smiling and happy faces, the clear milky way, the sound of cracking speakers with a too high volume with Westlife and the smell of a rain shower in the heat.

I will join a research project of Resilience (company of 3 Wageningen friends) and Hans Eenhoorn, professor at Wageningen University and a member of the UN task force on hunger. Together with a group of students I will search for the possibilities to change smallholder farmers in Ghana into entrepreneurs. I will look especially at the Ghana School Feeding Programme, an initiative of the Dutch and Ghanaian Government in order to increase school enrolment and short term food security. Through school meals the programme hopes that more children enroll in school and that children will have higher results in school because of better nutrition. The school enrolment increased a lot because of the programme, but the quality of education is questionable because of classes with more children and teachers without proper training. Food for GSFP is according to the glossy brochures all produced locally. However, in practice this is not true. I will find out which efforts have been taken to involve farmers and how to improve their involvement. To o this research I will go to Bonsaaso, a small village between Kumasi and Tamale. This tiny African village thanks its 518 google hits to the fact that it is one of the Millennium Villages; the UN playground where people don’t use their bed nets to fish and where the Millennium Development Goals should be realized in 2015. The proud of Kofi Annan and Jeffrey Sachs. I am very curious!

Now I am busy with the preparations. First of all, I have to reinstall my computer that crashed totally! Furthermore, I am finishing the long shopping list of my Ghanaian friends and try to make contact with the coordinators in Ghana because I have no idea how to reach the villae, where I will sleep and whether I will have the permission of Columbia University to go to Bonsaaso. But as long as that is not arranged I will find a nice place at Labadi Beach. Perfect isn’t?

Warm regards, Leonoor

  • 31 Maart 2008 - 13:28

    Wilmas:

    Jo Leonoor... nu zie ik je volgens mij niet meer voordat je weggaat :( De WSO mist je nu al... maargoed, veel plezier daar met je projecten en al die mensen die heel hard hun best doen om de wereld te verbeteren... hopen dat het ook nog gaat lukken... :)
    Groens

  • 02 April 2008 - 12:41

    Diederik:

    haa Leo,

    vet gaave shizzle. Wel al die grote lijnen niet vergeten eh - denk EU/WTO en de discussie vrijdag - maar gelukkig is daar onze Moldavie ervaring goed voor! Ik sprak ook net Melle over Resilience en HOE GAAF IS DAT?! het is de
    vette wageningen kliek yahn
    zeker weer in Ghana ahn?
    Zet m op and kick some ass!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Nederland, Utrecht

Leonoor

Actief sinds 31 Maart 2008
Verslag gelezen: 275
Totaal aantal bezoekers 20873

Voorgaande reizen:

05 April 2008 - 08 Juli 2008

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: